Raleigh Hit and Run Accident Lawyer
Raleigh Hit and Run Lawyer
Hit and run accidents can be dangerous and even deadly. In a hit and run, the responsible driver flees the scene — usually to avoid paying compensation in a civil claim and/or escape criminal charges. In these complicated cases, a Raleigh hit and run lawyer can help victims get the justice they deserve.
Hit and Run Accidents
Hit and run accidents are surprisingly and unfortunately common. According to the most recent data reported by the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety, 11.7 percent of all motor vehicle crashes are hit and run accidents.
The same report found that a hit and run accident occurs somewhere in the United States every 43 seconds.
Hit and Run Accident Injuries
Hit and run accidents can result in all kinds of injuries, including:
- Broken bones
- Traumatic brain injury (TBI)
- Cuts, scrapes, and contusions
- Neck injuries
- Back injuries
- Spinal cord injuries
- Shoulder injuries
- Amputation (loss of limb)
- Paralysis and semi-paralysis
- “Road rash”
- Internal bleeding and organ damage
Damages in Hit and Run Accident Claims
An experienced Raleigh hit and run car accident lawyer can help calculate your damages. In addition to compensation for medical expenses, you may also be entitled to compensation for lost wages, loss of future income, and pain and suffering.
In certain cases, a judge or jury may also grant punitive damages in order to “punish” the hit and run driver for gross negligence.
“What is the Penalty for a Hit and Run Accident?”
In North Carolina and across the United States, fleeing the scene of a motor vehicle accident is illegal. A hit and run can either be a misdemeanor or a felony in North Carolina, depending on the severity of the injuries involved.
Hit and run penalties in North Carolina include:
- Class 1 misdemeanor hit and run — This type of hit and run typically involves minor property damage and/or minor personal physical injury. This Class 1 misdemeanor carries a potential penalty of up to 120 days in jail and a fine to be determined by the judge.
- Class H felony hit and run — This felony hit and run charge involves an accident resulting in serious bodily injury or death and can be punished by up to 25 months in prison, fines, and the suspension of the driver’s license.
- Class F felony hit and run — A driver may be charged with a Class F felony when the hit and run results in serious bodily injury (including substantial risk of death, permanent disfigurement or pain, or resulting in extended hospitalization). Penalties may include up to 41 months of jail, significant fines, and driver’s license suspension.
Keep in mind that the victim of a hit and run accident is entitled to recover compensation from the at-fault driver’s insurance company (if the driver is identified), or the victim’s own uninsured motorist (UM) coverage.
If the at-fault driver is identified and charged with a crime, the criminal trial can help prove liability and further strengthen your own claim for compensation.
*** Disclaimer: The results mentioned are intended to illustrate the type of cases handled by the firm. These results do not guarantee a similar outcome, and they should not be construed to constitute a promise or guarantee of a particular result in any particular case. Every case is different, and the outcome of any case depends upon a variety of factors unique to that case.