(800)525-7111 Free Consultation

How to File a Workers’ Compensation Claim in North Carolina

Riddle Brantley LLP   |  February 25, 2020   |  

Have you been injured on the job?

You may be wondering how to file a workers’ compensation claim in North Carolina.

Workers’ compensation (which used to be known as “workman’s compensation”) is employer-purchased insurance that provides financial support to employees in the event that they are injured while on the job.

While every case is different, the general approach to filing a workers’ compensation claim is the same.

Here’s how to file a workers’ compensation claim in North Carolina:

  1. Immediately notify your supervisor in writing — Be prompt in providing notice to your employer. Include the circumstances of the accident and the details of your injury.
  2. Complete and submit Form 18 — In North Carolina, those seeking workers’ compensation benefits are required to submit formal notice of their workplace injury to the North Carolina Industrial Commission (NCIC). This formal notice is known as Form 18. Your employer should be given a copy of Form 18, as well. This form should be filed within 30 days, and is required to be filed within two years of your injury. It is recommended that a North Carolina work injury lawyer review this form before you submit it to the NCIC.
  3. IF your workers’ compensation claim is denied, your employer or the workers’ comp insurance company is required to provide to you Form 61, known as a “Denial of NC Workers’ Compensation Claims.” If you are denied benefits, Form 61 should be provided to you within 14 days of your claim.
  4. IF your workers’ compensation claim is approved, your employer or the workers’ comp insurance company should provide to you Form 60, which is known as “Employer’s Admission of Employee’s Right to Compensation,” or Form 63, known as “Notice to Employee of Payment Without Prejudice.”
  5. Contact a workers’ compensation lawyer — Whether your workers’ compensation claim is initially approved or denied, you should contact a NC workers’ compensation attorney. Even if you receive a Form 63, you may still receive a denial of benefits and a work injury lawyer can help protect your legal rights.

Workers Compensation Lawyer in North Carolina - Riddle & Brantley (2)If you are denied workers’ compensation benefits, do not be discouraged.

You are entitled to submit a Form 33 — “Request for Hearing with the North Carolina Industrial Commission.”

A NC workers’ compensation lawyer can assist you in requesting this hearing.

Generally speaking, the NCIC will request that the parties involved attempt to resolve the claim via mediation prior to the hearing. Riddle & Brantley handles workers’ compensation hearings and mediations regularly and would love to help you if we can.

Please call 1-800-525-7111 for a free consultation with a work injury lawyer and let’s see how we can help.

Am I eligible for workers’ compensation (workman’s comp) benefits?

In most cases, North Carolina law requires businesses with two or more full-time employees to purchase workers’ compensation insurance.

Generally speaking, in the State of North Carolina, if you are injured while on the job (or even injured while on the business premises), you are entitled to claim workers’ compensation benefits. An experienced workers’ compensation attorney can review the details of your claim and help you if you’re wondering how to file a workers’ compensation claim.

For a FREE consultation with a Board-Certified Workers’ Compensation Specialist, please call 1-800-525-7111 or complete the short form below.

The consultation is free, there is no obligation, and if you decide to hire you won’t pay any attorney fees unless we win your case and you receive workers’ compensation benefits.

“They turned a heartbreaking situation completely around.”

-Tonya Taylor, Riddle & Brantley client

Injured on the job in North Carolina and wondering how to file a workers’ compensation claim?

If you’ve been injured while working in North Carolina, you may be entitled to workers’ comp benefits, and the NC work injury lawyers at Riddle & Brantley may be able to help.

How to File a Workers Compensation Claim - Riddle & BrantleyOur workers’ compensation team is led by two Board-Certified Workers’ Compensation Specialists who are recognized by the NC State Bar for their experience and expertise in handling work injury claims.

For a FREE consultation with a work injury lawyer serving clients throughout North Carolina, please call 1-800-525-7111 or complete the short form below.

There is no obligation and if you decide to hire us, there are no upfront costs or attorney fees unless we win your case and you receive the workers’ compensation benefits you need and deserve.

Please call 1-800-525-7111 to speak with a Board-Certified Workers’ Compensation Specialist today.

“I would recommend Riddle & Brantley to anyone who needs help with disability or workers’ comp.”

-B. Fields, Riddle & Brantley client

Justice Counts for injured workers in North Carolina and we are proud to fight tirelessly for our deserving clients