(800)525-7111 Free Consultation

Goldsboro Texting While Driving Accident Lawyer

Our Goldsboro texting and driving accident lawyers can help you get the justice you deserve.Texting and driving is a serious danger to drivers and passengers on North Carolina roadways, and Goldsboro is no exception. If you’ve been injured by a driver who was texting and driving, a Goldsboro texting and driving accident lawyer can help you seek justice and compensation for your injuries.

If you’ve suffered injury in a car accident caused by texting and driving, you deserve justice and you may be entitled to compensation. Call (919) 778-9700 for a free, no-obligation consultation with an experienced Goldsboro texting while driving accident lawyer.

There are no upfront costs, and you won’t pay any attorney fees unless we win your case and you receive compensation. Call (919) 778-9700 and let’s review your claim.

Texting and Driving Accidents

Texting while driving is a dangerous form of distracted driving. According to the North Carolina Department of Transportation (NCDOT), almost 19 percent of accidents involved distracted driving in 2019.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) reports that 3,142 people were killed in 2019 in motor vehicle accidents involving distracted drivers, many of whom may have been texting and driving.

At Riddle & Brantley, our Goldsboro texting and driving accident lawyers have handled many cases involving distracted driving. Many of these accidents result in serious injury, and sometimes the consequences are deadly.

Injuries Suffered Due to Distracted Driving

In more than 35 years handling all types of auto accidents in North Carolina, our car accident lawyers have represented clients who’ve suffered many kinds of injuries due to distracted driving.

Some types of distracted driving injuries include:

  • Broken bones
  • Cuts, scrapes, and abrasions
  • Neck injuries, including whiplash
  • Head injuries and traumatic brain injury (TBI)
  • Back injuries
  • Spinal cord injuries
  • Shoulder injuries
  • Airbag-related injuries
  • Injuries resulting from ejection from the vehicle
  • Loss of limbs (amputations)
  • Burns
  • Organ injury and internal bleeding
  • Paralysis and semi-paralysis
  • Death

Texting and Driving Laws in North Carolina

In North Carolina, it is illegal to text and drive. For drivers under the age of 18, the use of a cell phone is prohibited while driving — even if using a hands-free device. School bus drivers in North Carolina are also prohibited from using a cell phone while driving.

Texting and driving is also illegal for commercial truck drivers in North Carolina, based on regulations by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA). Truck drivers who text and drive face penalties up to $2,750 and can even have their commercial driver’s license (CDL) suspended or revoked.

Fines for Distracted Driving in North Carolina

Drivers who text and drive in North Carolina can be fined $100. Those under age 18 who are caught using a cell phone while driving can additionally be fined $25. School bus drivers who use a cell phone while driving can be fined $100, as well.

Evidence in Distracted Driving Accident Cases

Proving fault is critical in personal injury cases, and texting and driving accident cases are no exception. Our injury attorneys in Goldsboro rely on all types of evidence in proving liability in texting and driving cases.

Evidence may include but is not necessarily limited to:

  • Eyewitness testimony
  • The official accident report from law enforcement
  • Testimony from expert witnesses like accident reconstructionists
  • Photos of the crash scene, including debris, vehicle damages, injuries, skid marks, signage, etc.
  • Medical records
  • Surveillance video and dash cam footage
  • Cell phone records
  • GPS and navigation system data
  • Truck “black box” data

Riddle & Brantley’s Goldsboro texting and driving accident attorneys also have experienced investigators on staff to help with complex accident investigations. In one recent case, we even helped prove liability by obtaining traffic data from Google Maps.

“How Do I File a Texting and Driving Accident Claim in Goldsboro?”

"There are no attorney fees unless we win your Goldsboro texting and driving accident case and you receive compensation." - Gene RiddleIf you’ve been hurt by a driver who was texting and driving, don’t wait. The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in North Carolina is generally three years from the date of injury — call an experienced Goldsboro texting and driving accident lawyer immediately to see if you’re eligible for a claim.

At Riddle & Brantley, our goal is to get you justice — and make the entire process as easy, stress-free, and convenient as possible for you.

A texting and driving accident attorney at Riddle & Brantley can handle all aspects of your injury claim or lawsuit, including:

  • Investigating the circumstances of the accident and proving liability
  • Hiring expert witnesses like accident reconstructionists
  • Identifying and interviewing potential witnesses
  • Calculating damages
  • Connecting you with trusted medical providers
  • Obtaining the official accident report
  • Preparing you for statements to the insurance company
  • Negotiating with the insurance company
  • Filing a lawsuit if necessary
  • Preparing and filing legal briefs and court documents
  • Representing you at trial if necessary
  • Negotiating on your behalf in mediation and/or arbitration proceedings

“They handled my case very professionally, with respect from beginning to end.”

Joseph P., Riddle & Brantley client

Goldsboro Injury Attorneys Handling Texting and Driving Accidents

We are ready to help you seek justice if you’ve been injured due to another’s negligence in a texting and driving accident. For a FREE, no-obligation consultation with an experienced Goldsboro texting while driving accident lawyer, please call (919) 778-9700 or complete the fast and convenient form below. 

The consultation is free and we are ready to help however we can. Call (919) 778-9700 and let’s review your claim. You won’t pay any attorney fees unless we win your case and you receive compensation.

Justice Counts for those injured due to others’ negligence. We’re proud of our track record securing more than $600 million in total compensation for our deserving clients since 2000 alone (see disclaimer below), and we’d love to help however we can.

Call (919) 778-9700 and let’s review your claim.

 


*** Disclaimer: The results mentioned are intended to illustrate the type of cases handled by the firm. These results do not guarantee a similar outcome, and they should not be construed to constitute a promise or guarantee of a particular result in any particular case. Every case is different, and the outcome of any case depends upon a variety of factors unique to that case.