Hit and Run Accident Lawyers in North Carolina
Hit and Run Accident Lawyer
Hit and run accidents are unfortunately relatively common in North Carolina. In these cases, injured victims are encouraged to contact an experienced hit and run accident lawyer to help identify the at-fault driver and pursue the justice and compensation they deserve.
For a FREE consultation with an experienced North Carolina hit and run accident lawyer, please call 1-800-525-7111.
There is no obligation, and you won’t pay any attorney fees unless we win your case and you receive compensation.
Call 1-800-525-7111 today and let one of our North Carolina car accident lawyers review your hit and run accident injury claim. You deserve justice and you may be entitled to compensation. We would love to help however we can.
Hit and Run in North Carolina
A “hit and run” occurs when a driver leaves the scene after an accident. In North Carolina, it is illegal for a driver involved in an accident to flee the scene.
Unfortunately, hit and run accidents leave the injured party to fend for him or herself. That said, many of our clients are surprised to learn that there are various ways to obtain compensation from hit and run accidents.
Hit and Run Accident Claims
When the Driver Is Identified
In some cases, law enforcement easily identifies and locates the driver. This is frequently done by tracking license plate numbers or using traffic or other surveillance camera footage. In these situations, you may be able to file a car accident claim against the identified driver to recover compensation for your injuries.
When the Driver Is Not Identified
However, even if authorities are not able to locate the driver, you may still have a claim and be able to recover compensation after a hit and run accident. Under these circumstances, drivers injured in a hit and run accident can collect compensation through their uninsured/underinsured motorist policy.
Many of our clients are hesitant to file an uninsured claim against their insurance policy because they are worried their premiums will go up. While this concern is valid, it is unlikely to happen. We recommend that if you were hit by a truck or car in a hit and run accident, you contact an attorney as soon as possible. An experienced personal injury lawyer can help you navigate the complicated process of filing an uninsured claim.
Hit and Run Attorneys in North Carolina That Are Ready to Help
At Riddle and Brantley, we understand that hit and run accidents are often even more stressful and confusing than other car crashes. After this type of crash, you may have questions about how to find the driver and hold them accountable for your personal injuries and other losses.
With over 225 years of combined legal experience, our North Carolina hit and run accident lawyers have what it takes to hold negligent parties accountable. Since 2000 alone, we’ve recovered more than $600 million in total compensation for our deserving clients (see disclaimer below).
A hit and run accident attorney at Riddle & Brantley can answer your questions and explain your options after you’ve been hit by a truck, car, or other vehicle in a hit and run accident.
Please call 1-800-525-7111 today for a FREE, no-obligation consultation. Remember, you won’t pay a dime in attorney fees unless we win your case and you receive compensation.
Hit and Run Accident Laws in North Carolina
Pursuant to North Carolina law, a driver who is involved in a car accident resulting in property damage, personal injuries, and/or death must immediately stop at the scene.
Additionally, the driver needs to remain at the scene of the accident until law enforcement arrives and completes an investigation. In North Carolina, if a driver flees the scene, the driver may be charged with a felony offense.
Furthermore, a driver cannot facilitate, allow, or agree to the removal of the vehicle from the scene of a car accident. The only exception is leaving to call police or for medical assistance. With cell phones, this is almost always unnecessary as medical attention can be called immediately on scene. After an accident, it is also important to remember that all drivers involved are required to share contact information.
In short, it is illegal for a driver involved in a car accident to leave the scene. This is true even for minor car crashes, such as a low-speed rear end collisions with no reported injuries or property damage.
Criminal Charges in North Carolina Hit and Run Accidents
Depending on the severity of the injuries and accident, hit and run drivers may face different types of criminal charges. Misdemeanor charges are brought against drivers who flee the scene after causing minimal injuries. If a wrongful death or severe catastrophic injury results, however, the driver will face Class H felony charges. Offenders convicted of a Class H felony could serve up to 39 months in jail.
Regardless, a criminal charge (and even conviction) against the driver does not provide compensation for your injuries. Instead, you must file a car accident claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company or your own uninsured insurance company. In some cases, you may need to file a personal injury lawsuit against the driver, and our North Carolina car accident lawyers can help.
What To Do If You’re Involved in a Hit and Run Accident
Most victims of hit and run accidents are unaware of their rights and what they can do to protect themselves. After a hit and run car accident, there are certain steps you should take:
- Get Emergency Medical Attention — Similar to any car accident, always call 911. Not only can medical attention help protect your health and safety, but your medical records and doctor’s notes will be critical in any potential claim or lawsuit.
- Write Down Any Info You Remember About the Other Vehicle or Driver — A license plate number is often extremely helpful, but is not always necessary to find the driver. If you can recall details of what the driver or car looked like, that may also help your case.
- Document the Accident Scene with Photos — Take photos of the crash scene, including any debris, skid marks, vehicle damage, road markings, signs, etc., and also get pictures of any injuries.
- Get Contact Info from Witnesses — Witness testimony may be critical in identifying the other driver and proving liability.
- Inspect the Surroundings —You or your attorney can determine if any nearby businesses or locations have video footage of the wreck. Video footage can sometimes be critical in finding the hit and run driver.
- Call a Hit and Run Accident Attorney — An experienced lawyer can use the police report and information from a criminal investigation to help your case. If the authorities find the hit and run driver, an attorney can help you obtain his or her insurance information and file a car accident claim. If the police cannot locate the driver, your lawyer can advise you on other options for compensation.
“I would not have won my case without help from my team at Riddle & Brantley.”
–Jim S., Riddle & Brantley client
Other Types of Hit and Run Accidents
Hit and run accidents also happen to other travelers on the road. For instance, our firm has handled hit and run cases involving motorcycle riders, truck drivers, pedestrians, and bicyclists. Since pedestrians and cyclists have little physical protection on the road, they often sustain severe bodily injury.
Sometimes these victims do not even see what hit them and cannot identify a vehicle or a driver. When we represent injured victims, we work diligently to identify the hit and run driver and hold them accountable for their actions.
Police Reports and Witness Statements
Police reports and witness statements are key to our success in pursuing compensation for those injured in hit and run accidents. If you or a loved one was injured in a hit and run accident, we recommend you call us right away at 1-800-525-7111 so we can get a head start in gathering evidence and investigating the accident.
Injured in a Hit and Run Accident?
At the law offices of Riddle & Brantley, we understand how difficult and confusing filing a hit and run accident claim can be. Most people may not even know that filing a claim is an option if the other driver is not identified. However, a North Carolina hit and run accident lawyer at Riddle & Brantley can answer your questions and provide comprehensive legal counsel to help get you the compensation you need and deserve.
For a FREE, no-obligation consultation with an experienced North Carolina car accident lawyer handling hit and run accident claims, please call 1-800-525-7111.
The consultation is free and we don’t get paid unless you do. If we don’t recover compensation for you, you won’t pay any attorney fees. It’s as simple as that.
Please call 1-800-525-7111 today and let’s review your claim.
“They handled my case very professionally, with respect from beginning to end.”
–Joseph P., Riddle & Brantley client
We proudly serve clients with several convenient locations in North Carolina, and we can consult with you from the comfort of your home or anywhere else by phone, email, text, and video conference. We frequently respond to calls, emails, and texts after hours and on weekends, and have bilingual interpreters available for the convenience of our Spanish-speaking clients.
Justice Counts. Don’t wait — the longer you wait to have your hit and run accident case investigated, the harder it may be to win your case and recover the compensation you deserve.
Call 1-800-525-7111 today and let’s review your claim.
*** Disclaimer: The results mentioned are intended to illustrate the type of cases handled by the firm. These results do not guarantee a similar outcome, and they should not be construed to constitute a promise or guarantee of a particular result in any particular case. Every case is different, and the outcome of any case depends upon a variety of factors unique to that case.