Lawyers for Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Accidents in North Carolina
Uninsured Motorist Lawyer
Accidents involving uninsured or underinsured drivers can be challenging when pursuing compensation for your injuries. In these cases, it is important to contact an experienced uninsured driver lawyer to help find all available coverage and seek the compensation you deserve.
For a FREE, no-obligation consultation with an experienced North Carolina uninsured driver lawyer, please call 1-800-525-7111.
There is no obligation and you won’t pay any attorney fees unless we win your case and you receive compensation. Call 1-800-525-7111 and let an experienced North Carolina car accident lawyer at Riddle & Brantley help.
Uninsured and Underinsured Coverage in North Carolina
The North Carolina DMV requires all auto owners to have liability insurance on their auto policies. Additionally, North Carolina law mandates that all cars with NC registration must be covered under North Carolina liability insurance. Unfortunately, North Carolina does not accept other states’ auto insurance policies under the statute. This law is to ensure that negligent parties can compensate injured individuals after an accident.
However, in some cases the injuries sustained by innocent parties are more severe than the minimum coverage allows for, or, even worse, the negligent driver may not have any insurance coverage on his vehicle. In these situations, you may be able to file under your own auto insurance policy’s uninsured or underinsured (UM/UIM) coverage.
- Uninsured coverage is used when the at-fault driver does not have any auto insurance policy
- Underinsured coverage is used when damages exceed the at-fault driver’s policy limits.
Filing a UI / UIM claim against your own insurance company can be daunting. Many people are surprised to discover that their own insurance company won’t offer a fair settlement. At Riddle and Brantley, we have spent decades working with these types of claims and know how to handle the insurance companies. We can assist you in filing your uninsured or underinsured motorist claim and will fight to ensure that you get the compensation you deserve.
For more than 35 years, we have represented clients throughout the entire state of North Carolina. We offer FREE, no-obligation consultations and work on a contingency basis, which means we don’t get paid unless you do.
For a FREE consultation with an experienced uninsured driver attorney serving North Carolina, please call 1-800-525-7111 or complete the fast and convenient form below.
There is no obligation and there are no attorney fees unless we win your case and you receive compensation.
Call 1-800-525-7111 and let’s review your claim.
How Common Are Uninsured and Underinsured Drivers in North Carolina?
An insurance study published in 2015 suggested that 6.5% of North Carolina drivers are uninsured. In North Carolina, uninsured motorist statistics for 2015 are better than the national average, ranking 4th in the nation for the lowest percent of uninsured drivers. As far back as 1989, North Carolina has had one of the highest financial responsibility compliance rates (96.6 percent) and one of the swiftest and most effective enforcement systems in the nation.
Despite this lower percentage of uninsured motorists, those injured in an accident may still have to file under their underinsured policies in order to pay for all of their medical expenses. Still, the minimum amounts of liability coverage required in North Carolina are:
- $30,000 for per person injuries
- $60,000 per accident for personal injury
- $25,000 for property damage.
Often, a car accident victim’s injuries and damages may exceed these limits.
This means that even if a driver is in compliance with car insurance laws in North Carolina, your recovery may not pay for all medical bills after a car accident, pain and suffering or other losses after a car crash. However, if you have underinsurance coverage, you may be able to use your own UIM policy to cover additional costs.
Can You “Stack” Insurance Coverage in North Carolina?
Auto accident cases often require identify other coverages and how to “stack” policies of other coverages for maximum recovery. “Stacking” is a term used to describe combining a person’s multiple insurance policies for greater recovery.
Our dedicated North Carolina car accident lawyers work tirelessly to find all available coverage options, and often use stacking to recover as much as possible for our clients. Throughout our years of practice, we have seen multiple underinsured cases where the at-fault driver has minimum coverage. However, in many cases, we are able to locate more coverage to help pay for our clients’ damages.
Sometimes we find excess or underinsured coverage of $1,000,000 or more (see disclaimer below). This is exactly what happened when attorney Gene Riddle represented a woman injured in a motorcycle wreck. He found two underinsured policies, one for $50,000 and the other for $1,000,000. He was able to stack them for a combined recovery of $1,050,000.
For a FREE consultation with an experienced underinsured motorist lawyer in North Carolina, please call 1-800-525-7111.
We will review your claim and advise you on your legal options at no cost to you. If you decide to hire us, you’ll only pay attorney fees if we recover compensation for you.
Is UI / UIM Coverage Required in North Carolina?
North Carolina law requires all car insurance policies to include uninsured coverage, however, underinsured coverage is not required.
In some cases, our clients have coverage and don’t even realize it. So, if you sustain injuries in an accident caused by an uninsured driver or a hit and run driver, you could potentially collect uninsured motorist benefits under your own policy. Essentially, these policies provide you with insurance against the other driver’s lack of insurance.
Minimum UM/UIM limits in North Carolina are equal to the minimum liability requirements, often stated as “30/60/25”. This means that you can recover up to $30,000 per injured person in an accident caused by an uninsured driver. The minimum coverage for personal injuries per accident is $60,000, plus $25,000 for property damage.
Note that you have the option to buy more UM/UIM insurance, which we strongly advise. You and your loved ones could greatly benefit from the small expense of this extra coverage.
“What Happens If an Uninsured or Underinsured Driver Hits Me?”
If you have car insurance in North Carolina, you also have uninsured coverage of at least $30,000. However, the amount you collect from your policy will depend on the type of car crash and the other driver.
Possible scenarios include:
- The at-fault driver had no insurance. In these cases, you may file an uninsured motorist claim and collect compensation for your personal injuries and property damage up to your policy limits. These claims are very similar to a regular claim with the at-fault driver’s provider. Your insurance premium will typically not increase for a UM claim where you did not contribute to the collision.
- The at-fault driver had minimal limits of $30,000. If the other driver has insurance, but not enough to cover all of your damages, then you may file an underinsured motorist claim. However, you may only claim the difference between the total amount the at-fault driver’s insurance paid and your policy limits. As a result, you cannot collect more total compensation than your policy limits. As stated above, North Carolina does not require all vehicles to have underinsured policies.
- Hit and run accidents. Insurance claims for hit and run accidents depend on whether law enforcement identifies the driver. If the driver is found, then you may file an insurance claim with his or her provider. In the event the driver has no insurance, then you can file against your own uninsured policy. However, you can only recover compensation for your personal injuries in this kind of case. The insurance company will not cover the property damage.
Suing an Uninsured Motorist in North Carolina
The personal injury lawyers at Riddle & Brantley have experience representing victims of car accident injuries in UM/UIM claims, including claims for hit and run accidents.
Since 1985, Riddle & Brantley’s uninsured driver attorneys have recovered millions of dollars in compensation for victims of accidents due to others’ negligence (see disclaimer below).
We’re proud of the results we’ve secured for our deserving clients, and we invite you to review our recent case results (see disclaimer below).
In one recent case, we represented a passenger who was injured by an 18-wheeler in a hit and run accident. The impact was so great that it pushed our client’s vehicle off the road. Unfortunately, law enforcement could not identify the defendant truck driver. We continued to vigorously represent our client and successfully pursued an uninsured motorist claim.
“Riddle & Brantley found me all the available money from the insurance companies.”
–D. Howard, Riddle & Brantley client
Have an Uninsured Motorist Claim? Call Our Uninsured Driver Lawyers
Even though you have UM/UIM benefits under your own automobile policy, you may have a hard time collecting a settlement. Insurance companies are for-profit businesses. This means they have a vested interest in minimizing the amounts they pay out in claims — even to their own clients. Insurance adjusters are professionals at negotiating claims, and they are looking out for the company’s interests, not yours.
At Riddle & Brantley, we deal with insurance adjusters all day long. We know the tricks they use, and we know how to read your policy to make sure you get the compensation you deserve.
For a FREE consultation concerning an uninsured or underinsured motorist claim, call our North Carolina car accident lawyers at 1-800-525-7111.
We serve clients throughout North Carolina from our many convenient locations. If you are unable to come into our office, we can consult with you by phone, email, text, or video conference, and we can even send one of our accident investigators to speak with you.
Contact us today for a FREE, no-obligation consultation. Call 1-800-525-7111 and let’s talk.
Remember, we work on a contingency basis, so there are no attorney fees unless we win your case and you receive compensation.
*** Disclaimer: The results mentioned are intended to illustrate the type of cases handled by the firm. These results do not guarantee a similar outcome, and they should not be construed to constitute a promise or guarantee of a particular result in any particular case. Every case is different, and the outcome of any case depends upon a variety of factors unique to that case.