Goldsboro Hit & Run Accident Lawyer
Hit and Run Attorneys in Goldsboro, NC
If you’ve been involved in a hit-and-run accident, the hit and run accident lawyers at Riddle & Brantley are ready to help.
Since 1985, we’ve been helping hit and run victims in Goldsboro and greater North Carolina and we would love to help you get the justice and compensation you deserve. In many cases, we can track down the at-fault driver, but keep in mind, even if the hit and run driver cannot be located, you may still be able to get compensation for your injuries and other damages.
In most cases we have investigated (where the other driver flees the scene) we discover that the driver left because he/she was intoxicated, had no insurance, was on drugs, or had warrants for arrest pending.
In many cases, our attorneys have been able to recover thousands of dollars in compensation for victims of hit and run accidents — regardless of whether the at-fault driver was identified (see disclaimer below). Since 2000 alone, we’ve recovered over $665 million in total compensation for injury victims in North Carolina, including Goldsboro (see disclaimer below).
A Personal Connection
In one recent case, attorney Gene Riddle’s wife was injured in a hit and run accident. Fortunately, her injuries were not life-threatening, but there were several thousands of dollars in vehicle damage, as well. In this case, attorney Riddle was able to coordinate with law enforcement to identify the at-fault driver, who had a warrant out for his arrest.
For a FREE, no-obligation case review, please call (919) 778-9700 and let’s see how we can help. An experienced hit and run attorney can evaluate your claim and help determine your best legal options for seeking compensation.
“Every time I’ve needed them, they were there for me.”
–Tyronnie T., Riddle & Brantley client
Hit and Run Accidents in Goldsboro and North Carolina
A hit-and-run accident occurs when a driver flees the scene after an accident. In North Carolina it is illegal for a driver involved in an accident to flee the scene. All drivers involved in accidents are required under North Carolina law to immediately stop or return to the scene of the accident especially if the accident caused injury, death, or damage to a vehicle or other property.
All drivers involved in an accident should provide aid or help if someone is hurt or seriously injured and not able to get to the hospital without assistance. Drivers must also exchange information with each other. Violations of this law may lead to significant fines, criminal charges, and jail time. The penalties are most severe when the hit and run results in injury or death.
Penalties for Hit and Run Accidents in North Carolina
The penalties for fleeing the scene of an accident in North Carolina vary based on the charges. Misdemeanor charges may result in up to 120 days in jail and fines. A hit and run will be charged as a felony offense if the accident causes injury, serious bodily injury, or even death.
A hit-and-run accident in North Carolina that causes injury is a Class H Felony and is punishable by 4 to 25 months in jail, the suspension of your driver’s license, and hefty fines. A Class F Felony occurs when there is a hit and run involving bodily injury with a risk of death, disfigurement or pain, or resulting in a lengthy hospital stay. Class F penalties involve up to 41 months in jail, significant fines, and driver’s license suspension.
Talk with a Goldsboro Hit and Run Lawyer Today for Free
If you’ve been injured in a hit and run accident, call Riddle & Brantley at (919) 778-9700 for a free case review. Our Goldsboro hit and run accident lawyers are ready to help. There are no upfront costs and no attorney fees unless we win your case and you receive compensation. We have been helping the people of North Carolina for nearly 40 years.
Why Do Hit and Run Accidents Happen?
Hit and run accidents in North Carolina are more common than you may think. Alarmingly, an estimated 3-5% of hit-and-run accidents result in death. Hit and run drivers leave the scene of an accident for many reasons, which may include:
- The driver does not have insurance
- They do not have driver’s license or have a suspended license
- The driver has an outstanding arrest warrant
- They were driving while impaired
- The driver was engaged in other negligent or reckless activity
- There are outstanding warrants for the driver’s arrest
- The driver is afraid to face the consequences of their actions
In any of these cases, injured victims should contact an experienced North Carolina hit and run accident lawyer to help identify the at-fault driver and pursue the justice and compensation they deserve. For a free case review with a hit and run lawyer at Riddle & Brantley in Goldsboro, North Carolina call (919) 778-9700 or fill out the short form below. Our track record speaks for itself, and our experienced attorneys are ready to advocate for you.
What to Do After a Hit and Run Accident
After a hit and run accident in Goldsboro or elsewhere in North Carolina, there are a few steps you should take. These include:
- Call the police — Never try to pursue a fleeing hit and run driver. Even if you do not know who hit you, the police may be able to help identify this person. An accident report is essential to your insurance claim.
- Seek medical attention whether you think you are injured or not — A complete medical evaluation is important because sometimes injuries do not become apparent until days after an accident. These injuries may include whiplash, head and neck injuries, and other medical conditions. It is important to have a physical record of your condition immediately following the accident.
- Gather evidence — Take photos if you are able. Road conditions, weather and other aspects of the accident scene can all help. Pictures of the vehicles and roadways help provide proof of what happened during the accident. Write down any details about the other driver and vehicle if you can.
- Call your insurance company — Many insurance companies require that a report be made within a specific time frame. Remember, do NOT give a recorded statement to the insurance company without first talking with a hit-and-run accident lawyer.
- Get Contact Info from Witnesses — Witness testimony may be critical in identifying the other driver and proving liability.
- Inspect the Surroundings of the accident —You or your attorney can determine if any nearby businesses or locations have video footage of the wreck. Video footage can sometimes be critical in finding the hit and run driver.
- Call a Hit and Run Accident Attorney— An experienced hit and run lawyer can use the police report and information from a criminal investigation to help your case. If the authorities find the hit and run driver, an attorney can help you obtain his or her insurance information and file a car accident claim. If the police cannot locate the driver, your lawyer can advise you on other options for compensation.
“How Can a Hit and Run Attorney Help My Case?”
Navigating a hit and run accident injury claim can be intimidating and confusing. The attorneys at Riddle & Brantley Law Firm can help handle all aspects of your hit and run accident claim or lawsuit. Depending on the circumstances, we may:
- Organize a thorough crash investigation
- Identify witnesses and review witness accounts of what happened
- Obtain and review surveillance or video footage.
- Obtain and review the official accident report
- Coordinate with law enforcement to help identify the at-fault driver
- Hire expert witnesses such as accident reconstructionists
- File a claim on your behalf
- Negotiate with the insurance company and defense counsel
- File a lawsuit if necessary
- Conduct depositions
- Draft and file legal briefs and other court documents
- Represent you in mediation and/or arbitration proceedings
- Represent you in hearings and at trial if necessary
If you are involved in a hit and run accident, there are a couple options for seeking compensation.
- Filing an uninsured motorist (UM) claim – Uninsured motorist coverage is required in North Carolina. Uninsured motorist insurance protects the driver of an accident if the other person does not have auto insurance. This also protects you if you are a victim of a hit and run accident. UM pays for your medical bills and auto repairs after an accident. However, UM may not cover all damages.
- Filing a personal injury claim – If the hit and run driver is located, you may be able to file a personal injury claim against the driver who fled the scene. Be sure to file a claim with law enforcement so they can conduct a thorough investigation and find the at-fault driver.
Hit and run accidents can be very scary. Leaving the scene of an accident is a serious crime with penalties. Let the hit and run attorneys at Riddle & Brantley help. While police conduct their investigation, we will do our own investigation on your behalf.
We’ve been serving Goldsboro since 1985, and are proud of the 4.6 average rating we’ve earned in more than 350 reviews on Google. We’re also proud of the words our clients use to describe their experience:
“You’ll walk in the front door as a client but leave as family. They’re the absolute best.”
–Susan S., Riddle & Brantley client
These cases can be complex, but we are ready to help you maneuver through the difficulties to get you the compensation you deserve. The hit and run lawyers at Riddle & Brantley want to give you the personalized attention you need and deserve for the best outcome after your accident.
Call us at (919) 778-9700 or fill out the short form below. We are here to help. Justice Counts for you and your loved ones.
*** Disclaimer: The results mentioned are intended to illustrate the type of cases handled by the firm. These results do not guarantee a similar outcome, and they should not be construed to constitute a promise or guarantee of a particular result in any particular case. Every case is different, and the outcome of any case depends upon a variety of factors unique to that case.