Do You Need a Special License to Drive a Motorcycle in North Carolina?

July 21, 2023 | By Riddle & Brantley Accident Injury Lawyers
Do You Need a Special License to Drive a Motorcycle in North Carolina?

You will need to obtain a motorcycle rider's license, endorsement, or learner's permit to legally ride in North Carolina. If you are apprehended while riding without a license, you may be charged with a Class 2 or 3 misdemeanor, exposing you to substantial fines and potential jail time.

The North Carolina motorcycle accident lawyers at Riddle & Brantley have a deep appreciation for the state's riding culture. When motorcyclists suffer injuries in accidents caused by careless motorists, we fight to recover the damages they deserve to get them back on their bikes as quickly as possible.

How Can You Get a North Carolina Motorcycle License?

If you already have a provisional, standard, or commercial driver's license, you can get a North Carolina motorcycle riding permit. You can acquire this by passing tests that examine your knowledge, ability to identify road signs, and your vision. The knowledge test includes questions, for example, about what you would do to break on a slippery surface and the standards for an approved motorcycle helmet. If you apply for a permit and are under 18 years old, you will need consent from a parent or guardian. In addition, you must take an approved motorcycle safety course.

Your permit will expire within 12 months. While you have your permit, you can practice riding but are not authorized to carry passengers. When you feel confident about your riding abilities, you can schedule a road test, which will measure your motorcycle control and hazard avoidance skills.

Do You Need a Motorcycle License to Ride a Scooter or Moped?

You do not need a motorcycle license in North Carolina to ride a moped or scooter that has an engine with a displacement that is smaller than 50cc. You also do not need a license to ride an electric bicycle, hoverboard, or similar vehicles with limited power and speed capabilities.

Although you do not need a license to operate these vehicles, the state requires you to register them and carry liability insurance. Contact an experienced motorcycle accident attorney if you have questions about your obligations for riding a scooter or moped in North Carolina.

Call Us at Riddle & Brantley for a Free Case Review

The personal injury lawyers at Riddle & Brantley have offices throughout North Carolina. We have developed extensive knowledge about motorcycle licensing requirements through many years of representing injured riders in motorcycle accident lawsuits against negligent drivers. In one recent case, we recovered $1.5 million in compensation for our client, who suffered serious injuries in a motorcycle accident.

We believe that Justice Counts when riders are injured, particularly when careless motorists try to deflect their own fault. If you've been injured in a motorcycle accident, call 1-800-525-7111 for a free case review with a North Carolina motorcycle accident lawyer at Riddle & Brantley.

"You all have been a blessing in my life, and I feel like a family member."